Write It Down 


Several years ago I was struggling with NOT receiving an answer to a prayer that I had been diligently praying for years and years. When I was cleaning out the drawers next to my bed last week I came across the verse that I had written down on a notecard. I had forgotten all about it. I had originally written it out and set it next to a picture of my daughter. I would be reminded each morning when I woke up that God’s promises are true. I must have put the notecard in the drawer next to my bed when I was dusting. I forgot all about the Bible verse. Isn’t that like us to forget? Sometimes it doesn’t feel like our requests are being heard or that God is even moving on our behalf. We forget the promises that are directly deposited to us by God. 

Our circumstances don’t change and can even get worse at times. This verse was downloaded to me straight from heaven. It was at a time when nothing I was trying was working to bring about healing to my oldest daughter. I had tossed and turned all night after what seemed like a never ending tale of unanswered prayers and disappointing treatments that didn’t bring relief or answers. I remember it like it was yesterday. God gave me the address of Habakkuk 2:3 in my mind.  

It was a soft whisper but clearly heard.  

I knew it was from Him because I didn’t know where Habakkuk was in the Bible and most certainly did not have any verses memorized from that book. I looked up the verse and the ones preceding and following it. It was like an arrow shot straight to my heart!! He reminded me that the appointed time was not forgotten and that I must wait for it. I thought He might need the reminder, so I wrote it down. Plus, He did say to make it plain and write it down. The revelation was simple. 

 “The good work God had started in my daughter He Would complete until the day of Christ.” 

Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ: Philippians 1:6 

The circumstances didn’t change over night. The complications were still there and continue to be to this day. However what I have seen is that in spite of those hindrances she is able to be independent and live out her dreams and passions. God must have known that I once again would NEED that reminder this week. He so graciously made me aware that He did speak to me back then and still does bank on that promise. He is making all things possible in Christ for my daughter. He is healing her and one day she will no longer struggle with this annoying “issue”. 

We all need reminders that His promises are relevant for us today and He delights in us standing on them with Him in faith. I’m here to remind you though it linger wait for it; it will certainly come and will not delay. Make an appointment today and write it down. 

Write on, 
Kelley Allison 
http://www.bowlofsplendor.com

Habakkuk 2:2-5
The Lord’s Answer

2 Then the Lord replied:

“Write down the revelation

    and make it plain on tablets

    so that a herald[a] may run with it.

3 For the revelation awaits an appointed time;

    it speaks of the end

    and will not prove false.

Though it linger, wait for it;

    it[b] will certainly come

    and will not delay.

6 thoughts on “Write It Down 

Leave a comment