How Fleeting My Life Is 

Show me, LORD, my life’s end and the number of my days; let me know how fleeting my life is. You have made my days a mere handbreadth; the span of my years is as nothing before you. Everyone is but a breath, even those who seem secure. (Psalm 39:4-5 NIV)

Do you ever get busy or take for granted how precious the very breath of life is? 

I still get consumed in the awe of life. Yet, at times, I find myself living as if I have forgotten that I am not guaranteed tomorrow. Being present, in each moment, can be difficult . . . even with the greatest intention. 

Deadlines, chores, kids, running to this and that, daydreaming about the next chapter in my life, you name it, I forget that my time is as quick as the next breath I take in. 

I get busy and complacent and there are many things I don’t do that I should. Even so, God, here with his merciful heart, reminding me just how fast my life has been. He has a way of showing me how important it is to stop, look around, observe, and take it in. 

Lord, you are the author and the maker of life. You have given it through your mouth and also by your son. Forgive me when I am not mindful of the greatest gift and gently pull me closer to where it was designed. I am thankful for every day and every breath that is yours. In your precious Holy name, Amen.

~ Baring His Beauty,

   Tiffany Thomas 

