Sharing Your Faith 

 I was in Los Angeles last week looking at colleges with my daughter and some friends. California has an amazing climate surrounded by beautiful beaches and little mountains. It is always fun to meet new people in new places that you visit. 
On our last day I finally got some alone time with God by the pool. It’s a bonus when you get to have a meeting with God by the pool and it’s 70 degrees in June. No sweat, all glory!!

 I sat down and did my regular soak. BTW, this in no way involved getting wet. It involves just being still with open ears. You can start by listening to some worship music, mediating on a scripture verse and writing down any inspirational thoughts that home to mind. 
I was asking God the best way that I can make a difference in someone’s life especially the ones you just meet and you only have such a short time to make any kind of impact. 
I asked and He answered. I wrote down my thoughts as they streamed through my mind as fast as I could. 
Here is a sneak peak into what He said to me written in first person as a personal letter to me. 
Now, I don’t typically share all my soak notes with just anyone. They can get kind of personal. 

By sharing, I hope it helps you to know that you too can hear from God and He delights in chit chatting with you. 

My question: 
How do I affect people that are lost and don’t know you, God?
The more time you spend with me the more we become one Spirit. I will spill over to others through you. It’s not an attempt for you. It’s not even an action you make. It’s a dwelling that just is. 

I am that I am and you are because I am. 

You become what you are. You’re time spent with me fills you with love, joy, peace, goodness, kindness, patience and self-control. 
Peace becomes your step. 

Joy becomes your song. 

Love becomes your stance. 
My delight is in you and your delight in me becomes you. 
It’s not a performance for you. 

It’s a passion in you.  
This spills over into a desire to delight in others and they SEE Me not you. 
This is how you affect others.

It’s the simple acts of kindness that turns the hearts of man to me. 

It could be your one act of kindness that helps turn the page to a new chapter for someone to discover their own Author and Creator. 

Here we are at a Starbucks in Hollywood Blvd and Highland Park with two new friends who were an honor to pray with and discuss about how amazing our God is to us all. The paradoxical thing about that night: You think you are affecting them in a positive way, but it turns out they end up blessing you in more ways than one. God meets us right where we are even if it’s smack dab in the middle of great disobedience, rebellion or disbelief. We as believers have the ability to meet others where they are and remind them they are created for so much more than they could ever imagine. 

Hebrews 13:2 Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for by this some have entertained angels without knowing it.

Romans 12:10 Be devoted to one another in brotherly love; give preference to one another in honor;

Soak On, 

Kelley Allison

*for more explanation on how you too can learn how to be still and know God on a deeper level check out
http://www.bowlofsplendor.com

Go to The Soaking 101 page 

Leave a Reply

