Finding Me 

Surrounded by darkness

No way of escape

Tormented by demons

Holding me hostage

I trample on love, mercy and grace

I wouldn’t allow it to stick to me

Darkness clings like a wet blanket 

I can’t shake it off

It became part of me

Through the choices I made 

And the choices that were made 

On my behalf

My heart ruled by fear and hopelessness

Not a flicker of light in sight

I am sinking deeper and deeper away in despair

Darkness took over every part of me

Dark thoughts

Dark words

Dark face

Far from the life I imagined I’d live

Then all of a sudden there You are

Like a beacon of light in the dark

Stepping into my life

You are dressed in glory

You glisten with love

I try to hide, but I am overtaken

by Your holy presence 

I am numb by the peace 

enveloping You

You take a step closer to me

Till I stand in the shadow of Your

passionate love

Darkness had to flee at the sight

of Your majesty

I am so aware of my brokenness

So aware of every disappointment

So aware of the pain I have caused You

I wait for You to judge me

Instead Your love draws me in

Giving me a glimpse of Your heart for me

An all consuming fire flowing from Your being, 

Burning away all that has clung to me

Replacing darkness with Your light

I am free at last

I am overwhelmed by Your presence

Speechless that You came looking for me

Nothing could stop You from finding me

In Your gaze I found myself

I know that I am deeply loved

My dress once torn and stained 

is now replaced with royal robes

My face once immersed with pain

Now glistens with Your love

My whole being is lavished with 

Your kindness and grace

I am free to be Your bride

I am redeemed

I am deeply loved

Nothing could stop You from finding me

~ Ebigale Wilson 

