My Faithful Bridegroom 

I look at her and wish I were as glamorous 

Everything is in its place

From her head to her toes

She’s dressed beautifully

She is a women with style, 

A taste for the best

Nothing to spare 

She knows how to feed her flesh

Then there is me

Just plain, boring me

I don’t like expensive clothes or shoes

I bathe in the perfumes of His love

A paintbrush doesn’t often touch my face

I just need to mirror His grace

I love on the poor and the hurt

My heart aches for other’s betrayal

I don’t have much to offer

Except how to love

I won’t be featured in a glamour magazine

But maybe, just maybe

Someone will remember my heart

Maybe in some small way 

I have touched somebody, in a meaningful way

Underneath her spotless appearance

Is a heart as cold as a graveyard

She is selfish, vicious and dangerous

She walks over people

To take what she wants

She will sap you of your power, 

Until you are destroyed

Till you end up in hell, with her by your side

I will fix my eyes on my Faithful Bridegroom

He is a covenant keeper through every season

He is my safe place

The love of my life

I don’t need all the trimmings 

And stuff bought by money

“Name brands” Can’t buy what I have

It goes deeper,

Than the sound that pride leaves

It’s in the eyes of my children

When they look at me

It’s in the touch of so many special friends 

Sent by my King

In the face of the hopeless when I reach out to help

I can see God’s hand alive in my life

I know it was worth 

The pain and betrayal

In the wilderness

I saw His glory

I was ruined by 

His great love for me

I have found my place

In His heart I fit best

~ Ebigale Wilson 

