Each Word Is A Gift 

I am finding during this 2016 Presidential election season my emotions and conversations are getting turned up several notches of frustration and fury. I catch myself saying things that cause me to look around to see if those words could have possibly flew out of someone else’s mouth rather than mine. 
I’m so passionate about my opinions and how I can fix America to make it great again. (That was a plug) 

 
 I sometimes forget that my words I use may not be so uplifting and positive about the candidates and those who support them. So I keep getting reminded ever so gently by God that my words matter and I need to have control over them. I still believe you can kindly state your beliefs and opinions without being brass and rude. We find ourselves in a time where it is frustrating because whatever you may say or state can cause offense or be deemed politically incorrect. You find yourself being silent because quite honestly your candidate of choice is at times difficult to defend. If only everyone could see the workings behind the process of what is to come. 

How do you communicate your passion for justice and reform without causing offense and anger from the opposing camp of your beliefs? I admit I am stumped and frustrated!! 

When I came across this verse, God reminded me that I am in the place of power and position to choose what happens with my words. 
We all know the scriptures about holding your tongue and how words either bring life or death. 

I guess I have to decide if I want do what the Word says about watching my words. That’s the first step. Make a choice. 

Okay, yes I will do better and try. 

I am going to make this simple for myself and focus on these two points. 

Say only what helps

Each word is a gift 

So I will ask myself before I speak out loud. Is what I say helpful and is it a gift to the person I’m speaking about or to?
If the answer is no, it’s vetoed. 

That doesn’t mean we are not allowed to speak our beliefs and stand up for what we believe to be right. 

I just have to carefully choose my words so they help bring life to people. 

Is my truth gift carefully wrapped in love and taped up with helping words of encouragement? 

I can do this!! 

Well, actually I don’t think I can on my own. But God can help me and reveal to me the truth behind all the circumstances of my agendas so that I give them as a gift to others that brings them into a place of being respected and honored. 

Stand up for your beliefs but always make sure they are gifts of help to others. 

Gift on,

Kelley Allison

http://www.bowlofsplendor.com

Leave a Reply

