Priceless

The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing. (Zephaniah 3:17) – ESV

 

Recently, my friend, had a missed communication when she went to visit with her son in prison. She didn’t receive the message asking her not to come that day. This particular time, he had served at an outside event, and for a reward, he got to participate in the meal that was prepared there.

But he was interrupted with her visit, and he didn’t get to finish the meal.

Needless to say, he wasn’t as happy to see her as she was to see him. He explained in disappointment and frustration, “I didn’t get to eat my fried chicken!”  

Lovingly, she responded back, “Well, I’m sorry son, but I came here today, because I really wanted to spend some time with you.”

As I was imagining his frustration, due to the time that had passed since he had a meal like that, I understood.

That meal was priceless.

And then I remembered some of the times that I have complained, or have been frustrated, because I didn’t get to finish something that I really wanted to. I thought about my own past offenses, like when I felt that my sinful life was cut short – due to unexpected consequences, for an example.

I thank God that he isn’t condemning, he is gentle and kind. He blots out my past with no mention of my sins.
He said:
“There were, still are, many times that I just really desire to spend time with you. So, as you question the importance of a piece of chicken, remember this: The things that ‘you feel’ are important – do not always include me, but I would sure like them to.”

“I never change. I always desire to spend time with you. I take great delight in you and rejoice over you. To me, moments like these are priceless.”

Friends,

May your time with the Lord be priceless today.

  ~ Baring His Beauty,

      Tiffany Thomas 

Leave a Reply

