Redemption Rain 



Redemption

noun:  re·demp·tion \ri-ˈdem(p)-shən\

The act of making something better or more acceptable.  

Redeem

verb

Definition: recover possession; to make something or someone seem less bad.

Synonyms: buy back, buy off, call in, cash, cash in, change, cover, defray, discharge, exchange, get back, make good, pay off, purchase, ransom, recapture, reclaim, recoup, regain, reinstate, repay, replevin, replevy, repossess, repurchase, restore, retrieve, settle, take in, trade in, win back


Antonyms: forfeit, lose

for·feit

ˈfôrfət/

verb

lose or be deprived of (property or a right or privilege) as a penalty for wrongdoing.



Lately my heart has been heavy due to many many things.  

I have been reflecting a lot on life and loss.  

A song shuffled on my phone that had me looking at redemption and redeem and the opposite; lose or forfeit.
I started thinking about these words and definitions and how life is ever changing…

Some things in my life I never thought would change, suddenly have. Some have been months and years in the changing and evolving. My children have changed into adults before my eyes. People I love have passed away. Some are suffering horrible life changing events that will soon change them drastically physically, financially, and emotionally. Friendships have changed. Some have been lost; while some feel forfeited. Some friendships I never thought would be restored again, suddenly have. 

I was feeling quite emotional and praying to God …

Lord, I am one that has always liked change but right now I don’t like it. It feels too heavy and just too much all at once. I don’t like having to hold on loosely to everyone and everything. I love you and trust you Lord but I don’t want to feel this hurt, this rejection, this change of seasons, the shifting of shadows. Why show and give me things I don’t understand that can drive wedges between or build up walls? I don’t do fake and catty or let’s see who can hurt the other one more with meaningless words. Why is it so hard to simply have things fall in line or simply find the time? You know I struggle with wanting to just cut ties and build walls when I feel hurt and rejected. Help me! I need your strength Lord because I feel lost and weak. I feel angry and sad and a little mad right now. 

That is when God led me to many little notes of encouragement and things people have given me that I have collected over the years.  
Some still very much active in my life and some that are not. 


Suddenly these words to this song poured out through the speaker…..

oh] love be in my bones

Love shake down my walls

Love be in my bones

Love shake down my walls

[repeat]
Love be in my bones [shake down my walls]

Love shake down my walls

Love be in my bones [love be, love be in my walls]

Love shake down my walls

God already knew how I was feeling. He already knew my heart was battered and bruised. He already knew that I was weak and sad and frustrated in need of some encouragement to uplift me and my weary soul. He already knows me really well and needed to get my attention before I built a wall of hurt and anger and unforgiveness and bitterness or slumped into the bondage of buying the enemies lies.  

I had myself a real good cry- which I had not had one of those in awhile.  


I imagined God’s Redemption Rain pouring down on me washing away the sadness and tears.

Redemption rain is falling

Down, down, down

Redemption’s love is pouring

Out, out, out



Redemption is different in each situation.

The act of making something better or more acceptable is always in God’s hands. 

We must trust He knows what is best for us and our ultimate good.  
Even when it doesn’t appear good, God is still good. 

We just keep loving as God says to love and trust He knows best. 

Lord, I surrender to Your Redemption Rain- how ever you need to make things better – have Your way Lord. Shake down my walls. Love be in my bones. Help me to trust even when I don’t understand how you redeem and restore things. Thank you for always being faithful. Thank you that sometimes when it feels like we are standing all alone, we aren’t. We have You right there beside us to guide us. Help me love like You. Help me be ok if redemption doesn’t look like how I want it to. 

          ~ XXOO Michelle Bollom

Redemption Rain

By Melissa Helser, Joel Case, Justina Brinkley
Lyrics: 

Won’t you come up here, come up high

Won’t you sing His praise, let it rise

Up from the ashes and all your pain

Won’t you come and dance in redemption’s rain

Come up here

[repeat]
[music]
Redemption rain is falling

Down, down, down

Redemption’s love is pouring

Out, out, out

Redemption’s song is singing

La, la, la
We singing la, la, la

We singing la, la, la
Won’t you come up here, come up now

Won’t you leave your worries below the clouds

[and] let His beauty fill your lungs

The heavenly chorus has begun

Come up here
[music]
Redemption rain is falling

Down, down, down

Redemption’s love is pouring

Out, out, out

Redemption’s song is singing

La, la, la
We singing la, la, la

We singing la, la, la
[oh] love be in my bones

Love shake down my walls

Love be in my bones

Love shake down my walls

[repeat]
Love be in my bones [shake down my walls]

Love shake down my walls

Love be in my bones [love be, love be in my walls]

Love shake down my walls

[repeat]
[music]

[outro]


One thought on “Redemption Rain 

Leave a Reply

