Pokemon Go Or A No Go 


PokeCrazy! The world once again has gone PokeCrazy. Everywhere you Go- it’s Pokemon.

I remember in the 90’s my kids loved Pokemon. They collected the cards and bought every Pokemon Video game created. 
They had Pikachu and Squirrtle and Charmeleon and my son’s favorite shirt was a Pokemon shirt. 

I watched the show a few times with him and didn’t get it; but had no real cause for concern.  

I did not really understand all the hype but I allowed it. Some of the cards I did not like and made them trade or give away. They would trade cards with friends but they had no clue how to really play the game. 

Then one day when his voice started to crack and he got some armpit hair, he decided he was done and they both packed up and sold all their stuff at a garage sale. 

  We never heard of Pokemon again …

Until recently.

My kids, now 17, were taking about this new app that was Pokemon Go; a virtual scavenger hunt. Before they even got it all out I immediately said- “You will not play that, it opens the door for the enemy.”

They begin pleading their case that not everything is evil and that it encourages activity and community. I could see that they were not buying what I was trying to tell them, so I relented and said- “Ok, seek God and I will seek God and pray for Him to reveal if you should keep playing. ” 

I woke up Monday to post after post on social media about the new Pokemon Go Game App. I defended our decision to allow it on a post and felt at peace that we would seek God and we didn’t really see any harm in the game. I thought –Balance and no playing while driving, and they should be fine.   

Then headlines and news circulated that people were using it to lure people for not only robberies but for pedophiles luring unsuspecting children.  

Wow! The new candy or puppy lure is now- Hey kid, I got a Charmeleon for you.  

As the day wore on I began to have no peace about my kids playing it.  

I then read posts from friends in deliverance ministry taking about that it does open a door for oppressions.  
I started to think back about how as a young child my son was gripped with fear a lot.  

As my mind raced to all the debates and opinions and news stories I didn’t know what to think….

So I stopped and asked God to reveal to me something I am missing and to lead me to know for sure –Is this game a Go or a No Go for my kiddos?

Shortly after stopping to pray I was sent an article about an interview from the creator that said he created it out of rebellion against his overly Christian parents. 


It did not sit well with me. 

See the article and read it Here

So I shared it with a few and even got some resistance that it was fake and so forth.

Then my friend Stella reminded me that it does not line up with our Biblical Worldview.  


Thanks Stella! Now I had my groove back! 



We are not to dabble or entertain those things like Pocket Monsters, or Demons, or mystical religions or witchcraft, sorcery, evolution, psychics, tarot cards, tea leaves, mediums, etc.  

So I went to Google to try to find more things to plead my case to my kiddos.  
I found this article that helped me explain it a little further and I thanked God for revealing it all to me.

Read that article Here

 

And if that is still not enough to convince you ….my friend Stella sent me this article on what the Bible says….

Read Here

Still not convinced …..

 
Check out today’s round making posts about privacy and how people are deleting the app. 

Read more here

Lastly, I was told about a book by John Paul Jackson regarding the dangers of Pokemon

Here is the link for the book

I am not a Ghost Buster, or Demon Chaser. I do believe that what the world views as insignificant is not what God thinks. I am learning every day about things that can open doors for oppressions and many other things. I am a parent that did not always get it right, and I still don’t. But I seek God and ask Him to intervene when I may not see the obvious staring me in the face. I am thankful for great friends that point me in a better direction and I am so grateful to a loving God that forgives me and my kiddos when we repent for seeking things that are not His best for us. 

So for our house- 

 Pokemon is a definite No Go for us.

       ~XXOO Michelle Bollom 

8 thoughts on “Pokemon Go Or A No Go 

  1. Great to see parents being thoughtful about such things – and encouraging others to be so, too.

    It is worth mentioning that the Time magazine article referenced above regarding the inspiration for Pokemon is fake. It was not made as any sort of rebellion against Christianity. If you check the comments below the article, you will see several links to the real interview that Time magazine did with the creator, along with a link to an entry on Snopes explaining that this is a hoax.

    Thanks again for the encouragement to keep God first in all things! May God give us wisdom as we lead our children.

    1. Thank you Brian for the information. I will look into. That was not the deciding factor for me- the real factor was the link my friend shared where it doesn’t line up with a Biblical Worldview. Everyone has to decide for themselves and their children. We allowed it at first and God clearly showed me differently. Appreciate your comments and clarification.

  2. I see someone already pointed out that the Time interview was fake. However, the second article that you linked too is also satire. If you read to the bottom of the page it says that it is written to poke fun at people who actually believe pokemon is demonic.

    1. I did not base my opinion on either one of those articles. I included since they were sent to me… But clearly based my decision on the Biblical basis and respect the late John Paul Jackson’s take on that it could be an open door so for us and my children we will not be playing.

      1. Ok, I can get that. But how do you expect people to take your blog seriously when your first two cited sources are satirical works mocking the very viewpoint you hold?

      2. I listed all references I was given and as I stated before- I based my opinion on what God said was best for me and my family. I said it’s a no go for us. Others can come to their own conclusions.

Leave a Reply

