While On Vacation 


I took so much more home with me on this vacation……..

As I see so many people over indulging at an All-Inclusive resort on excessive food and alcohol, I am saddened at the neglected children running around while their parents get trashed. Sadly, I was one of those parents at one time but thankfully now I choose to abstain from all alcohol. Sometime even still though my over indulgences and selfishness can take me away from my family in other areas.  

I hear angry and short-tempered moms and dads nursing hangovers and screaming and cursing at their children. Some in languages I don’t understand but their body language and tones are clearly understood. Sadly, I was one of those parents at one time, and can still be short and not as gracious as I should. 

I witness several entitled and unruly children talking back to their parents, screaming and throwing fits. One little boy around 9 years old was so disrespectful to his mother calling her stupid and telling her to sit down and shut up over and over. I was shocked and speechless. 

I watch and listen to a dad playing ball with his son and notice the smile on his son’s face is not there- it has faded because each time his pitching and catching skills are not up to his dad’s unrealistic standards his dad makes him run sprints on the hot sand and calls him sissy and other derogatory names. The little boy is clearly not having fun, but is struggling for his dad’s acceptance and approval. Sadly, I was a task-master of a mother with unrealistic expectations too at one time. 

I see so many people checked out playing on their phones but sitting right next to their families. Couples sitting in strange uncomfortable silence.  As I celebrate 20 years of marriage this year, I too remember years of strange and uncomfortable silence and am so grateful for a good, solid and loving marriage now. 

At first I was so annoyed by seeing and witnessing all of this. I just wanted to read my book and quietly listen to the waves…I wanted to tune it all out but then I knew God was answering my prayer.  

You see, I had asked God to show me specific people through Divine Encounters that needed Him and If I could be his hands, feet and mouth this week. 

Suddenly, Carlos, the waiter comes up and hands me a water bottle and asks what I want from the bar. I say, nothing right now. He said, it’s not too early for alcohol. You sure?, I then say – I don’t drink alcohol. He asks surprised, you never drank alcohol? I say, oh no I did, I just don’t drink anymore. He asks when? A month? Why? How? He is very interested in the answer.  
I begin to share that I had a problem with alcohol and after having a dream and receiving a word from God I gave it up almost 4 years ago.   
He said, Oh I wish I could! I want to but I can’t, it’s so hard. 
I said- I can pray for you.  
He very excited and anxiously replies – Please!

So right there under a cabana on the beach I reach for Carlos’s hand and pray– 
God, deliver your beloved son from the bondage of alcohol. Give him the strength to resist the temptation. Help and deliver him now. In Jesus’ name. Amen.
With tears filling up in his eyes – he whispers-

Thank You So Much Senorita. 
I replied, Gracias, my pleasure.  

Can you all join me and pray for Carlos and for all the families, the children, the marriages and for any other areas we may find ourselves struggling in. 

Lord – give me your eyes and ears to see and hear. Help me not to be annoyed and quick to judge. Help me instead to remember all the ways you have delivered me, and have my first thought and reaction be to pray for those in bondage to be delivered too. 

~ XXOO Michelle Bollom 

3 thoughts on “While On Vacation 

Leave a Reply

