Closet Clutter Conquered


I have this ongoing problem with my closet. I start off with it super clean and everything in its proper place. It stays that way for awhile. Then one day it happens. I walk in and I am in a hurry to be somewhere, so instead of taking off my jacket and shoes and taking five seconds or less to put the items exactly where they go, I rush in and throw everything on the floor and rush out of the closet. This repeats itself several times through out the day that leads to weeks and then into months. I am left with a mile high pile of clothes, shoes, unhung jackets and pants. I know I am in trouble when I have to step over the mountain of clothes to get to the back of the closet. There sits my patient overnight bags waiting to be unpacked from trips taken weeks ago 
I immediately want to walk out of my closet and shut the door. I don’t want to be reminded of the mountain of clutter I have created over time. 

Out of sight out of mind!!

Well, until I have to walk in the closet to get dressed each morning. 

Do you ever just feel like You have become overwhelmed with life’s circumstances? You keep looking for an exit door to escape the piles and piles of life’s closet clutter that have stacked up and become so high you don’t know where to begin to fold yourself back to some sort of peaceful order and structure. 

Everything in your life just starts to pile higher and higher that you can’t see past the mountain of chaos and confusion. 

Frustration enters in and brings their friends named Disappointment and Dissatisfaction. They might as well be Siamese twins because they always seem to be joined at the hip. Two talking heads that keep bantering in your ears that your life or your circumstances are too hard and you just might as well walk out and shut the door behind you. 

Sometimes these waves come in strong and other times they just bring in little splashes of whispers messing with your thinking and pushing you to lose hope and give up on whatever it is you are facing. 

It could also be compared to a constant headache that follows you throughout the day. You might forget about if for awhile but you become more aware of the pain again when you settle yourself down and the noise around you stops. You have to face the throbbing pain on your forehead. Do I take something for immediate relief to mask the pain or trudge through the annoyance of the pain? 
The deepest of solutions would be to figure out why the headache started and how can I prevent it from coming back again. Again that takes more time and more thought. 

What do you do at this point? Go with the flow of negative destructive thoughts or make a conscious decision to face the defeating THOUGHTS and put a stop to it? Do you take a directional detour in your thinking or just keep trudging though the pain of the ongoing annoying circumstances? Do you grab the shovel and start digging out the roots of the problem? What would motivate you to start picking up the pieces or pulling out the roots of disappointment and dissatisfaction? 

Well, the good news is I inspired myself to organize and clean out my closet. Truth be told, my real motivation behind that endeavor was Purple Heart showing up to collect donation items. It wasn’t fun. It took time and energy. I picked up one item at a time. Slowly, I put everything back in its proper place. Eventually the mountain disappeared and I could get to the back of my closet. When I walk in my closet now I am happy. I could pull up a chair and hang out there for a bit. I actually know what I have to wear and where it is located. I have a sense of accomplishment and I notice my friends Disappointment and Dissatisfaction weren’t hanging around anymore. In fact they disappeared. New friends, Delight and Accomplishment appeared each time I opened my closet door. 

It takes just ONE action of starting to move you into the right direction of conquering your mountain of closet clutter. 

Great News!!
As followers of Jesus we are not alone in our journey of closet clutter cleaning. In fact we are reminded that we are to COMPLETELY rely on Him to help us in every way to accomplish this feat. 

Ephesians 6:10-18

The Message

A Fight to the Finish

10-12 And that about wraps it up. God is strong, and he wants you strong. So take everything the Master has set out for you, well-made weapons of the best materials. And put them to use so you will be able to stand up to everything the Devil throws your way. This is no afternoon athletic contest that we’ll walk away from and forget about in a couple of hours. This is for keeps, a life-or-death fight to the finish against the Devil and all his angels.

13-18 Be prepared. You’re up against far more than you can handle on your own. Take all the help you can get, every weapon God has issued, so that when it’s all over but the shouting you’ll still be on your feet. Truth, righteousness, peace, faith, and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon. In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out.

Clean on,

Kelley Allison

http://www.bowlofsplendor.com

Leave a Reply

