Words Spoken Into Existence 


From the beginning of time, words were used to speak things into existence.

And God SAID, “Let there be light,” and there was light. Genesis 1:3 ESV

There is a purpose for everything God created through His spoken word.

Words have power.  God chose His spoken word to connect His eternal spiritual reality to the physical world of our lives. Words release power over our lives and the people in it.

We often fail to understand how important words are. We are unaware of the power created by speaking them.

God’s full and good will was unleashed when he spoke his creation into existence, through His Holy Spirit. And it is that same Spirit that now also lives in us just waiting to apply that same power in our lives, according to the word of God.

Words have power, even negative ones.

I grew up believing the enemy’s lies. I wasn’t good enough. I was a failure. I was unworthy and unlovable. I would never be worthy of grace or love. On and on the enemy would ramble.

I believed every word. I was each and every negative defining experience I proclaimed into my life.

Little did I know, the words I heard, for my entire life, would dictate how I acted and how I responded. 

They defined who I was.

Negative self-talk becomes a negative life lived out, and the enemy would love to see nothing more than his lies alive in our heart.  

However, we have the opportunity to receive God’s Word into our life and change absolutely everything. Words create life and they also create death. They raise us up or tear us down. They guide and direct us into action. They define who we are and help us live life along the journey God lays before us.

The act of an all knowing, all loving God was spoken; love was formed into creation.

Then God said, “Let us make man in our image, after our likeness. Genesis 1:26 ESV

God had a bigger plan. He had a purpose for you and for me. His Word creates a healthy connection, wisdom, and brings loving relationships into life. His Word establishes the truth and exposes the enemy’s lies. His Word creates new life through forgiveness and redemption. 

It creates love called into action. 

Jesus defines who we are by His words that are always in truth. Do you live by the defining nature of God?

Do you believe in God’s truth spoken about you?

Do you live life by the truth of His word?

Holy Spirit, come into our lives and empower us with the truth of Your Word. Allow our hearts to be open to the wisdom you have in each word spoken. Allow your word to protect and guide us with confidence. We want to live faithfully, in obedient reverence, glorifying you. Meet us right where we stand. Lead to the path you put before us. Remind us that your word is at the tip of our tongues. It is the spoken instruction you have laid upon our heart. Enlighten us with the power of Your Word.

In Jesus Name, Amen

~ Baring His Beauty,

Tiffany Thomas 

Leave a comment