Overlooking The Offense 

  

“Good sense makes one slow to anger, and it is his glory to overlook an offense.” Proverbs 19:11 ESV

I was disappointed by the attitude of some of my co-workers. The negative impact it was bringing into my work environment seemed toxic. It was weighing some of us down. It was hard to not try stopping it, someway, somehow, as if I had some power to do so.

How did entitlement come and settle into their hearts? Didn’t they understand the endless work and countless hours invested by others, spent before them? The excuses being made for their behavior caused me to become offended and angry. Bitterness started to reveal itself in my heart.

Have you ever had a time where you just wanted someone to see past the lie, so that they could work on the truth? Have you wanted to scream out, “YOU ARE IN DENIAL! Come out, come out, wherever you are?!”

After a few meetings, I found myself feeling defeated. I wondered why I expected anything more? Why did I expect anything at all? Brokenness causes people to act in certain ways, and fear drives most toxic situations into overdrive.

The enemy was using our individual fears as a tactic. His goal was for us to fight against one another, so all would be destroyed. He wanted to bring the company down.

What I realized was this:

Just because I looked at the situation and saw it one way didn’t mean everyone else was going to view it the same….even if the truth had presented itself to all of us.
The truth was this situation was for the Lord to oversee. It wasn’t my job to change the ungrateful hearts of my co-workers, it was God’s.

My responsibility was to pray for them.

Some things are out of our control. The message was very simple, just pray. It is difficult to let go sometimes. It’s our faith that hands it over to the Lord as he picks those things up.

Jesus, reveal to me what I need to see in my own heart before the need to look at others. Remind me of your grace when I’m confronted with the enemy’s lies. Give me strength, so I may fight against my emotions and hold on to your truth. Whisper into hearts that are depleted, may they find their way to you. Let it all be so that we may glorify the name of the Lord.

In the precious name of Jesus, Amen

Baring His Beauty-

    ~Tiffany Thomas 

Leave a Reply

