The Key To Breaking Free 

  
When the Lord delivered David from the hand of his enemies he gave God praise for his deliverance. 

He said “The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; the God of my strength, in whom I will trust; my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold and my refuge; my Savior, you save me from violence. I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised; so shall I be saved from my enemies. (2 Samuel 22: 2-4). 
We too must do the same as well. We must praise God before, during, and after any deliverance, breakthrough or transformation that takes place in our lives; never forgetting that it is the Lord who gives freedom to the prisoners (Psalm 146:7). 

I have personally found that when I have been set free and I’m trying to rebuild my life in the Lord that the enemy will immediately come in and tell me that I was not really set free. That I’m the same old messed up person I’ve always been. That I haven’t been transformed. That I’ll never be any different. That it really didn’t happen. That breakthroughs just don’t happen for me. 
Well through the years I have matured enough to know that these messages that I am hearing are not coming from the One who has set me free. 
I will immediately start to say “Lord I lift you up and I praise you. I thank you for your promises to me and my family. I praise you as my deliverer and my healer. I thank you that you have set me free, and that you will continue to be setting me free. I know that all good things in my life, everything good comes from You, Lord. I thank you that you are faithful in all that you do, and in all that you have promised”. 
We must remember where the voice of discouragement comes from. We have to determine to stay close to our Lord in praise and worship. 
Praise will silence the voice of the enemy so that you can better hear the voice of God. 
I believe that when we sing our praises to God for who He is and what He has done for us, it becomes the very instrument He uses to set us free. That is part of the power of praise even when my dusty flesh doesn’t feel like it. 
I will praise God that He is my deliverer and I thank Him for delivering me from everything that separates me from Him. I thank Him that He is all powerful and that He is daily continuously transforming me and my circumstances. 
When my flesh is in trouble and I am afraid I also remember that the Bible says that God keeps us from trouble by surrounding us with songs of deliverance. 

You are my hiding place; You shall preserve me from trouble; you shall surround me with songs of deliverance (psalm 32:7). 
Remember when Paul and Silas were beaten and thrown in prison they didn’t complain about their circumstances. In fact they did the exact opposite. They prayed, they worshipped God, they sang praises to Him and while they were singing a powerful earthquake shook the prison and opened the doors of all the cells where they and the other prisoners were locked up (Acts 16).

My friends, I will be the first to admit it is so much easy easier to preach the gospel than to live the gospel. 
I personally have found that when we find ourselves in a prison in our lives, praise is usually the last thing we feel like doing. We often feel as though our jaws are locked. Yet, worshipping Him is exactly what we are supposed to do.  


That is the key to breaking free. 

Paul and Silas worshipped God while in prison because they loved Him more than anything and wanted to glorify Him in all things. They knew that no matter what happened to them that God would be with them every step of the way. It was the very act of praising God that they were set free and not only did their chains fall off but the chains of every prisoner in that jail as well. 

There is freedom that happens just in being in the presence of people who are worshiping God when our hearts are tuned to it. Whenever we worship and praise God things are shaken up around us. Chains fall off and we are set free. So no matter what your flesh feels like, fight that feeling and praise God through it. Praise Him with your songs to Him. He is with you and your chains are being broken so that you too can be set free. 
Have a blessed day my friends.

                Michelle Smith

  

Leave a Reply

