Get Lit 

  
Are you finding it hard to get into the Word of God lately?? Are you too busy or just not able to keep your attention fully on daily Bible reading?

It is my experience and understanding that different versions serve different occasions. 

For example, 

I memorize the King James Version because it’s most familiar to me growing up. I do not read it daily because it is too formal and difficult to understand. However; if I set out to study a particular passage then I might use several different versions. I could also add a dictionary and reliable commentaries to help me accomplish that goal. 

Let’s get real and into my personal space of confession. 

I have always struggled with making time each day to read the Word and really mediating on it over and over. 

Well help is on the way!!

At least for me and my style of reading anyway!! It is different strokes for different folks. 

I discovered……


The Passion Translation 

By Dr. Brian Simmons 

   
It is translated from Greek and Aramaic texts. 

Thank goodness for Amazon Prime!! I could not find it in the book stores. 
The New Testament are the only books translated right now. It is divided into separate individual books. 

The Gospels are each a separate book and the rest of the New Testament is categorized together into several different books. 

I like the poetic flow and unique word choices found in this translation. 
Right now I am carrying it around everywhere I go…..
Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1&11 Timothy in a book called “Letters from Heaven”. 
 So this morning I asked myself, “Where should I read today?”. 
I answer back “Philippians 3”.  
It’s always good to talk to oneself because generally you hear back and are amenable to yourself.  
As usual I always pick the perfect place to land!!
God knows and helps directs my conversations to myself. 

Can I just give you a sneak peak??

Philippians 3:1-3

My beloved ones, don’t ever limit your joy or fail to rejoice in the wonderful experience of knowing our Lord Jesus! I don’t mind repeating what I’ve already written you because it protects you – beware of those religious hypocrites who perniciously teach that you should be circumcised to please God. For we have already experienced “heart-circumcision,” and we serve God and the power and freedom of the Holy Spirit, not in-laws and religious duties. We are those who boasts in what Jesus Christ has done, and not in what we can accomplish in our own strength.

I love it heart-circumcision!!
Not quite so physically painful and no more being bound to the Old Covenant of laws and religious duties. 
I can stop here and think on these things. 
What do I try and accomplish in my own strength to keep up with duties or religious expectations? 
What is the intent of my HEART? 

Cut it out!!! 

Scissors please 

“Anything that serves Him for my own recognition or acceptance”

Snip snip 
This heart circumcision might be more painful than I thought. 

Paul goes on to explain in the chapter that all his strict Jewish religious upbringing and education is nothing compared to the delight of experiencing Jesus Christ as his Lord. 
8)To truly know him meant letting go of everything from my past and throwing all my boasting and all that I thought made me better than others on the garbage heap. It’s all like a pile of manure to me now, so that I may be enriched in the reality of knowing Jesus Christ and embrace him as Lord and all of his greatness.

See what I am talking about with the word choices!!!
A pile of manure!!! 

Now that’s stinky stuff!!
Paul is quite serious about experiencing Jesus rather than just serving and dutifully following Him. 
10) And by his faith, I will fully experience oneness with Jesus and explosive power of his resurrection working in me. I will be one with him in his sufferings and I will be one with him and his death. 11)Only then will I be able to experience complete oneness with him and his resurrection from the realm of death.

Need a fire lit under you to start reading His word on a more consistent basis??
The Passion translation will light you up and set you on fire to burn up more time with God. You will be simmering with new thoughts while you read “Letters From Heaven” and the rest of New Testament books translated by Dr. Brian Simmons. 

“It’s lit” as my teenagers would say. 
Not sure exactly what they mean? 

We know the obvious refers to being drunk. 

So I checked with Urban Dictionary only because it would know what it means NOW. 
Slang is always changing and revolving with the culture. 

Urban Dictionary 
Lit 

The state of being so intoxicated (regardless of the intoxicating agent) that all the person can do is smile, so they look lit up like a light.

That’s me smiling when I read the Passion Translation version of the Bible!!

Let’s Get Lit,  

    Kelley Allison

     John1:4-5

2 thoughts on “Get Lit 

  1. Reblogged this on CELONA'S BLOG and commented:
    I love the flow and all, but this got me;
    My beloved ones, don’t ever limit your joy or fail to rejoice in the wonderful experience of knowing our Lord Jesus! I don’t mind repeating what I’ve already written you because it protects you – beware of those religious hypocrites who perniciously teach that you should be circumcised to please God. For we have already experienced “heart-circumcision,” and we serve God and the power and freedom of the Holy Spirit, not in-laws and religious duties. We are those who boasts in what Jesus Christ has done, and not in what we can accomplish in our own strength.

Leave a Reply

