Train 

  

 

Define

Train can mean to teach a particular skill or type of behavior through practice and instruction over a period of time.

 

Affirm

Proverbs 22: 6 “Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.”

 

Recall

When I became a parent, I began to appreciate all parents more. Parenthood, although one of life’s greatest blessings- can also be one of life’s greatest challenges. When you become a parent, you aren’t given a manual that gives you step by step instructions on how to parent a child. In fact, every day you are learning as your child is growing.    

 

Because, I wanted to be the best parent I could be, I began to reflect on things that contributed to my foundation. I thought about the many things that were instilled in me that molded my values, developed my character, and shaped the person I am today.

 

My assessment was narrowed down to the 4 P’s below. We should teach our children to: 

1. Pray– When we teach our children to pray, we are teaching them how to develop a personal relationship with GOD. We are also teaching them about the importance of casting all cares, fears, obstacles, and situations to him. Additionally children learn that they can unlock GOD’s power through prayer and conversation with him.  

 

2. Praise– We should teach our children to praise god and to also give others praise. When we teach children the power of praise and worship, we teach them how to love and express gratitude to GOD. We teach them how to open their hearts to letting the spirit fill them. When children praise GOD that are adding covering over all aspects of their lives. When children learn how to praise others, you plant the seed of servant leadership. You nurture the idea of honoring, appreciating, and motivating other people.

 

3. Promote– We should teach our children to promote the well-being of others. Biblical we are called to serve and help others. Fostering a Christ-like behavior is necessary for a fulfilled life. When children learn to serve and promote others at an early age, they learn the importance of aligning with something that is greater than them.

 

4. Pamper– We should teach our children to pamper themselves. In life, so many of us help others but often neglect pampering ourselves. To pamper yourself, helps you to learn about the importance of self-care. When we teach our children how to pamper themselves, we teach them the importance of the relaxing of one’s body, the renewing of one’s mind, and the rejuvenations of one’s spirit.

 

There is so much negatively going on in today society. Children need our support, they need our guidance, and they need our training. You don’t have to be a parent to influence a child. I was told it takes a village to raise a child. Yes, but it takes the power of GOD to offer sound instruction to our children to keep them protected and covered. When we teach children the 4 P’s we equip them to be powerful. When you are in a position to teach a child, I challenge you to show them how to embrace one of the 4 P’s- your life will never be the same and neither will theirs. When we train our children right, when they are older, they will not turn from it. I know- I am a product of it!  

 

Today, we need you to take a stand to train a child right. I DARE you.

 

Exercise:

Dear God,

Thank you so much for showing me how to be an example for children. Thank you for helping me to connect deeply with you so that I can portray your love and instruction for all children. Moments when I fall short- please ignite your power to keep me properly aligned.  

 

Commit to the challenge. I DARE you.

           ~ Lereca Monik 

#mydearestsister #Idareyou #restoredministries #itstimeforachange #anewyou

One thought on “Train 

Leave a Reply

