No RSVP Required 

  
I was reminded this morning of a time many years ago when I would hear someone say: “well the Lord told me….” And I would think, and even sometimes ask, “Really? How did you hear and know it was Him?”

Most could not explain to me how. They would say that you will just know. 

 That didn’t help me at all. So I bought every book I could get my hands on that dealt with “How to hear from God.” I read, prayed, pleaded and sat in uncomfortable silence. I even did the ole ‘ flip your bible and whatever page it landed on was the answer. I can’t even now recall if one specific book helped me with that other than beginning to read my Bible.  

The Lord’s number one way He speaks to us is through His written word- The Bible. 

He also uses people to confirm and speak to me, but in the last few years I have been hearing God on a much clearer frequency and almost like His audible voice is in my ear. I have to keep a notebook next to my bed now. 

In the last 16 days of my Fasting Experience, it has become so much clearer and a little hyper sensitive to me that my ears are feeling reverberations from all the downloads. 

I have been using the phrase lately “having the mind of Christ”. So when this was a verse for my 16 of 16 downloads, I knew it was confirmation from God that I was on the right track with today’s unpacking.

But the spiritual man [the spiritually mature Christian] judges all things [questions, examines and applies what the Holy Spirit reveals], yet is himself judged by no one [the unbeliever cannot judge and understand the believer’s spiritual nature]. For who has known the mind and purposes of the Lord, so as to instruct Him? But we have the mind of Christ [to be guided by His thoughts and purposes]. ~1 Corinthians 2:15-16 AMP 

I also believe the Altar’d study by Jennifer Kennedy Dean along with my fast is also playing a huge role in removing my fleshly desires and responses and by being more in tune with the Spirit has removed much of the old static.

I have been a little shocked by things coming out of my mouth because they are not in my normal character. They are not bad things, they are very good things and I believe they are 100% from God, but it seems almost surreal when it is as though you say something that you don’t recognize until it is out there.  

So thinking back, for me, it was a process, a quiet growth if you will, of just learning to be still, be in God’s presence, reading His word, and being in tune with the spirit more by removing the distractions of the world and denying my fleshly desires to make way for me to hear Him as He speaks. 

My second verse today sort of summed it all up for me….

 You’ve always given me breathing room,
    a place to get away from it all,
A lifetime pass to your safe-house,
    an open invitation as your guest.
You’ve always taken me seriously, God,
    made me welcome among those who know and love you. ~Psalm 61:3-5

God always gives us breathing room. He doesn’t force us to be with Him or to desire Him above everything else. He lets us make that choice. He is always offering us a place to get away from it all. We have a lifetime pass and an open invitation.  

The only question is…. 

Will you take Him up on His offer? 

No RSVP required, it’s always an open and standing invitation.  
You just come as you are.

No dress code is required either! 
                     ~XXOO Michelle Bollom 

One thought on “No RSVP Required 

Leave a Reply

