Get All Excited 

  

Have you ever noticed that christians seem to go through cycles or periods of excitement? Recently during a time of open worship I was thinking about how I seemed to have let my level of excitement slip. I wondered, “Why does that happen? Is it possible to maintain that zeal for God? I am pouring my heart out, why do I not feel as excited as I was a few months ago?”

Then God spoke to me and said “Because it’s not about you and how you feel. Simply being able to know me should be enough for you. It is all about Me. You need to feel excitement? Remember who it is that you are worshiping.”

That was such a wake-up call for me that even if I don’t “feel” like it, He is always worthy of my praise. It’s not about how I feel when I am with Him. It is a privilege for me to be able to even know Him. I can’t allow myself to become accustomed to His presence. That doesn’t mean limiting the amount of time I spend with Him in order to make it “more special.” It means I need to pursue Him even harder, spend as much time with Him as I can, but have the discipline to never lose sight of the fact that He is God. He is good and perfect. Being able to even speak His name is an honor and privilege. 

 I am not worthy of His presence. He is more than worthy of mine.

                              ~ Dana Smith 

 

Leave a Reply

