Reflections

  

  Every now and then I go to the antique store on my lunch break or on my way home. Not to buy anything really just to look and touch and dream. Sometimes I allow myself 15 minutes and 15 dollars, Or 10 minutes and 5 dollars. Yesterday I gave myself 20 minutes and zero dollars to look around. The minute I walked in the door I saw something that completely took my breath away. It was a dressing table from the 1920s with a marble top, solid walnut, complete with ornate brass handles and a beveled mirror that went all the way to the ceiling. I stood there and thought about what it must be like to own a piece of furniture this grand and what it must be like to sit at a mirror like this, take my time and get ready. 

   

As I looked at the mirrors’ reflection I saw myself and I looked out of place. I also saw something else. I started thinking about all the reflections that one beautiful mirror has framed over the years. How many times did she (whoever “she” was at the time) look at herself and see all her imperfections? 

How many parties did this mirror see her get ready for?  

I wonder …. Was she the same on the inside as the mirror showed the outside?  

Was she happy? 

 Did she doubt herself as a wife or a mother? 

 Did she laugh at herself or did she take things way too seriously?  

Was she slowly brushing her hair one day and wonder where all the gray came from? I wonder.

 

I would like to have time to sit and brush my hair 100 times or powder my nose and hum my favorite tune and just daydream while I get ready in the mornings.

 I’m sure she had more to do than I imagine she did but her life was much simpler….it had to be. 
As I get ready in the morning there’s one hundred little things going thru my head. I am bombarded with lists, and things to do, people to see, places to go.

 I have sticky notes stuck on the side of my dusty mirror that I see every day to remind me of important things.  

And at some point in the past I took an eye pencil and wrote “Pray” smack dab in the middle of it. So to say my mind is in a million different places in the morning is an understatement. 

The Bible teaches us that we are made in God’s image. Where we see wrinkles He looks and sees laughter, hard work and perseverance. Where we see dark circles under our sleepy eyes, He listened all night and heard every prayer we whispered, thought or cried in silence. All while everyone else slept safe and sound.  

He knows that we are doing the best we can. 

 He is there in that reflection with us. Smiling at who we are, who we are trying to be. 

 He has wiped every tear and is already expecting the troubles we will come face to face with. He is ready. Even if we’re not. 

Each day I clearly see all my imperfections thru a mirror that could use a good cleaning. (I plan to add that to my list).

 I am so thankful that God sees more.  

 He made us for His Glory and loves the flaws that make us who He made us to be and He looks at our reflection thru His son Jesus and not only are we beautiful ….we are flawless. 

 ~ Susan Q, Bailey 

Genesis 1:27

So God created mankind in his own image,

  in the image of God he created them;

   male and female he created them.

Hebrews 1:3

 The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word. After he had provided purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty in heaven. 

2 thoughts on “Reflections

Leave a Reply

