The 9m Navy Lady 

  
She had a cane

She was tall and fair

Quite old, slight and frail…

Requesting summer sandals

She walked slow 

Following my lead

My knowledge of 

What she needed

She was not demanding

Almost thankful to be

Receiving any help at all

Grateful that I had 

Even inquired if she

Needed my services

She came for tan

And settled for navy

She paid cash

The two white style’s 

I brought out for her to try

Were too narrow for her

Wide, worn, lived in feet

I fumbled as I tried to assist her

Putting them on

Awkward moment for

The both of us

She was alone and I wish I had 

Been kinder, smiling at her 

Showing mercy, care and patience

Instead she left with her 

9m Navy Sandals 

I did not watch her walk away

Or wonder where she was going

❤️ Krystal Lynne 

5/1/96

Leave a Reply

