Love 101

  

I have been thinking lately about all the hate, violence, offense, and just plain ole craziness in the world.  

We see it reported everywhere. Just look at Social Media or the news. There is so much “junk” out there and it keeps getting reported and reshared so it just keeps circulating In the atmosphere. 

Even if you don’t do social media or watch the news you probably have heard about the stories or witnessed it first hand in your own communities. 

I was sitting quietly and thinking about some of the recent events around the world that I have heard about or witnessed and this is what I wrote down:

The solution for all the world’s problems comes down to one thing-

LOVE


So as I was preparing this blog on my thoughts on Love, the world woke up yesterday to the trending of #LoveWins and I couldn’t help but think….

Love is NOT the Gay Rights hashtag #LoveWins message that is circulating.  
That definition of love NEVER wins- only Real Love Wins & that is a person –God.

Real Love already won at the cross.

I don’t care if people want to fight for equal rights for a civil union with their same sex partners- I accept and love all people regardless the lifestyle they choose to participate in- but why the need of wanting to redefine marriage on all the rest of the world that choose to live by a Biblical world view -which defines marriage as between a man and a woman? 

I don’t approve of the ruling, but I accept those that do.  

I read something that said don’t confuse Marriage with Holy Matrimony. 

I started thinking on what we really should not be confused by….

Don’t confuse Acceptance with Approval or Tolerance with Endorsement. 

The world has confused disapproval or a difference of opinions as Intolerance or hate. 

We can disapprove or disagree and still love.

 Disagreement and disapproval don’t =hate.  

The solution to end all hate, intolerance and violence in the world could really be very simple if we all followed Jesus’ command to Love.

Love God above all and love your neighbor the same as you love yourself.  

We can’t love our self or others properly without first loving God.   
Without genuine self love our love for others will always be counterfeit.  

We must know what Real Love is. 

 Love is a person- Love is God! 

Once we know God; Real love, then we will know how to love ourselves and others well and fulfill this command and all do our part in making this world a better place. 

This recent ruling doesn’t change anything.  God is still in control and God always wins.  

Yes, Love Won; several thousand years ago and Love is still winning and Love will win every time on every situation when it is Christ’s Love shown through us.

I think everyone should have to take a mandatory course in Love 101.  A great place to start is looking to God’s Promises in His Word on the subject.   

              XXOO ~Michelle Bollom

                     #LiveRestored
The whole law is made complete in this one command: “Love your neighbor the same as you love yourself.” (‭Galatians‬ ‭5‬:‭14‬ ERV)

The person who doesn’t love doesn’t know God, because God is love. (1 John 4:8 GW)


The Way of Love

If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate.

If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing.

If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.
Love never gives up.

Love cares more for others than for self.

Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.

Love doesn’t strut,

Doesn’t have a swelled head,

Doesn’t force itself on others,

Isn’t always “me first,”

Doesn’t fly off the handle,

Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,

Doesn’t revel when others grovel,

Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,

Puts up with anything,

Trusts God always,

Always looks for the best,

Never looks back,

But keeps going to the end.

Love never dies. Inspired speech will be over some day; praying in tongues will end; understanding will reach its limit. We know only a portion of the truth, and what we say about God is always incomplete. But when the Complete arrives, our incompletes will be canceled. (1 Corinthians 13:1-10 MSG)
  

Best quote on the recent ruling:

We’ve turned a historical corner today, one that is not only significant in terms of US history but also in light of God’s larger redemptive narrative. I see this new age as one of opportunity for the Christian believer, as we prepare to embrace any and all whose present joy might later turn to emptiness, confusion or despair. May the Church meet the new struggles of this age with all the soul-stirring love, faithfulness, and courage of Christ Himself.

—Karen Angela Ellis, Adjunct Professor of Ethics, Oxford Graduate School

One thought on “Love 101

Leave a Reply

