Promotion 

  

Define

Promotion can be defined as the action of raising someone to a higher position or rank or the fact of being so raised.

 

Affirm:  

1 Peter 5:6-7 “So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. God’s strong hand is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time. Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you.”

 

Recall:  

On Tuesday, June 16, 2015 the Golden State Warriors defeated the Cleveland Cavaliers in a 105-97 win for the 2015 NBA Championship game. For those of us that watch basketball, the final series was quite exciting and intense. For those of us that live in Houston, we were even more excited about supporting the Rockets this past season as well. I didn’t watch much basketball during the regular season; but I did watch a few of the Rockets vs Warriors games. That’s when I learned about Steph Curry, basketball’s MVP of the year. I decided to research more about Steph’s journey to MVP.  

 

Here’s information that you might not know about Steph’s basketball journey:

■ He was criticized by his peers for working on his shot in middle school

■ He was often overlooked because of his height and size, despite his talent

■ He wasn’t offered an athletic scholarship to a major university, even when his father reached out to professional contacts (he was offered the option to walk on a team)

■ He was the number 7 pick for the NBA draft in 2009, and was passed up by 5 teams

■ He suffers ongoing injuries to his ankles
Steph is now considered one of the best shooters the NBA has ever seen. I am in awe about what I learned about him. It made me think about what it takes to be great.  

 

I am wondering, have you ever felt overlooked? Have you ever been labeled as the underdog? Do you feel it’s time for an increase? Have you been criticized because you chose a different path? Are you due for a promotion?  

 

If you like me have experienced, feeling overlooked or being the underdog- just know that the key to your promotion is being content where you are and staying obedient to GOD’s word. In due season, GOD will promote you at the right time.  

 

Just like Steph, you must stay aggressive, be confident, and make plays. Steph has remained obedient and after he makes a good play, he pounds his chest and points to the sky to symbolize his heart for GOD as a reminder of who he is playing for.  

 

GOD’s POWER will always exceed the limitations that PEOPLE have. My challenge is when you feel that PEOPLE are overlooking you, remain steadfast in GOD and he will PROMOTE you. 

  

Exercise

Dear God, 

 Thank you so much for your commit to promote me at the right time. When I am feeling overlooked by others, please help me to stay focused on you. Thank you so much for my commitment to be steadfast in your promise. I know when you promote me it will be at the highest level. I thank you in advance for my promotion.

 

Commit to the challenge. I DARE you. 

#mydearestsister #Idareyou #restoredministries #itstimeforachange #anewyou #LiveRestored

~LeReca Monik 

 

2 thoughts on “Promotion 

  1. I love the message!! I love the scripture you used at the beginning of the blog also. Great work, not long and not to short

Leave a Reply

