No Compromise! 

  

Most of my life has been wrapped around other peoples’ opinions, I wanted to please my parents, I wanted to please my friends, I wanted to please my fellow church goers, I wanted to be ACCEPTED! 
Of course, the older we get the more the word “compromise” becomes important. 
As we grow, we realize there is no gray area, only black …. and white. Acceptance to people gives way to God’s will. I don’t want to live in that bleak gray area. I want to be shining in His light. I want my life to reflect the light of the Son in a blazing white light of glory!  

 There have been many times I’ve given way to compromise. I will negotiate with my husband on this matter  … or that, I will give in to a later bedtime for Cowboy on a special night. But there are things I will NOT compromise …….

God is first. What He says, what He tells me to do, and His promises …. this will always come first. I know if I follow this, all will be well with me and mine. 

There are times, when so many things come as an onslaught, that we tend to forget our first love, our priorities. With every problem, every distraction, every worry that is brought before us, it’s easy to loose sight of our first love, our first commitment. Eventually, our joy will be lost as well. And what is life without joy? It’s toil, it’s existence. I don’t want to merely exist, do you? NO! We want to LIVE!

It is our choice to accept the things that would bring us down and separate us from our first love. Problems …. sure, we all got them. It’s not the lack of troubles that makes us live, but rather how we LIVE while we are in those troubles. A tree is known by its fruit. But does not the soil have to work and toil to get the minerals in which to live? YES! And so must we! We must seek and search after our God, our source of nourishment, we must choose to live in the abundance of grace and love that has been provided for us. It’s all a choice.

So choose you this day. Will you succumb to the wiles of the enemy who would desire to bring you down, discourage and destroy you? Or will you choose to reach higher, love greater, forgive 70 times 7, and receive the blessing of the Most High? 

I choose life. Not just the breath of an eternal body, but everlasting life. I choose His life over my own fleshly desires. I choose to live.

So if I seem strange to you, like I don’t quite fit in ….. that ‘s ok. This ain’t high school and I don’t care what others think of me. This is eternity. I know where I’ll spend it, do you? 

And guess what, I don’t want to slide in by the skin of my teeth. NO! I want God to look at me and say, “Well Done MY good and faithful servant!”  You can call me weird, you can say I’m an outcast. It’s all to His glory for I AM a peculiar person and NOT of this world. I am honored that you perceive me as different, it means I’m doing something right because I don’t blend in! I do not and I WILL not conform to this world.

Stand Tall ye of faith! Give praise to the One who has made you! For He knows the number of hairs upon your head, how well yet, does He not know where He leads you? 


Go forth, without fear. Go forth in faith. Fear not, for He is with you!

~Sandra K. Yates 


4 thoughts on “No Compromise! 

  1. I really do not understand. If God is so loving and “glorious” – why is there so much suffering in the world.

    Why should we praise something that cause earthquakes, hurricanes and war.

    I would really appreciate if you could help out,

    cheers,
    Jack

    1. Jack- I definitely don’t have all the answers and sometimes we will never know the reason until we see the great screening room of our lives when we get to Heaven and God explains it all to us. Here is a answer from Got Answers. It also lists some scripture references to look up.
      Why does God allow earthquakes, tornados, hurricanes, tsunamis, typhoons, cyclones, mudslides, wildfires, and other natural disasters? Tragedies cause many people to question God’s goodness. It is distressing that natural disasters are often termed “acts of God” while no “credit” is given to God for years, decades, or even centuries of peaceful weather. God created the whole universe and the laws of nature (Genesis 1:1). Most natural disasters are a result of these laws at work. Hurricanes, typhoons, and tornados are the results of divergent weather patterns colliding. Earthquakes are the result of the earth’s plate structure shifting. A tsunami is caused by an underwater earthquake.

      The Bible proclaims that Jesus Christ holds all of nature together (Colossians 1:16-17). Could God prevent natural disasters? Absolutely! Does God sometimes influence the weather? Yes, as we see in Deuteronomy 11:17 and James 5:17. Numbers 16:30-34 shows us that God sometimes causes natural disasters as a judgment against sin. The book of Revelation describes many events which could definitely be described as natural disasters (Revelation chapters 6, 8, and 16). Is every natural disaster a punishment from God? Absolutely not.

      In much the same way that God allows evil people to commit evil acts, God allows the earth to reflect the consequences sin has had on creation. Romans 8:19-21 tells us, “The creation waits in eager expectation for the sons of God to be revealed. For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the glorious freedom of the children of God.” The fall of humanity into sin had effects on everything, including the world we inhabit. Everything in creation is subject to “frustration” and “decay.” Sin is the ultimate cause of natural disasters just as it is the cause of death, disease, and suffering.

      We can understand why natural disasters occur. What we do not understand is why God allows them to occur. Why did God allow the tsunami to kill over 225,000 people in Asia? Why did God allow Hurricane Katrina to destroy the homes of thousands of people? For one thing, such events shake our confidence in this life and force us to think about eternity. Churches are usually filled after disasters as people realize how tenuous their lives really are and how life can be taken away in an instant. What we do know is this: God is good! Many amazing miracles occurred during the course of natural disasters that prevented even greater loss of life. Natural disasters cause millions of people to reevaluate their priorities in life. Hundreds of millions of dollars in aid is sent to help the people who are suffering. Christian ministries have the opportunity to help, minister, counsel, pray, and lead people to saving faith in Christ! God can, and does, bring great good out of terrible tragedies (Romans 8:28).

      Read more: http://www.gotquestions.org/natural-disasters.html#ixzz3ZvdL3pW6

      Lastly I will say, I personally praise God and love Him because I was in a disaster of my own making and poor choices and thankfully He saved a wretch like me- restored my life, have me purpose and healed me in so many ways. I choose, which we all have that freedom to choose, to serve and honor and follow Him. I hope you find the answers to your questions and I pray that you too will come to know the awesome love and transforming power of Christ to live restored. Blessings to you- Michelle Bollom

      1. Thank you so much for your response.

        One more point. You say that you believe, praise and thank God because he helped YOU. Isn`t this a bit selfish? Ok God has treated YOU very well but for many people (like the family and friends of the 9 MILLION CHILDREN that die each year of starvation) God has been really really nasty and cruel.

        Are you then suggesting that you should only praise God if he has been good to you? If that is the case than are you saying that anyone who has had a hard time does NOT have to believe or praise.

        Sorry if this comes across as rued. I am not trying to be!

        Just got some questions that I need answering to renew and improve my belief!

        Thanks,

        Jack

        P.S. You may interested in blog. I think you might enjoy it!

        https://camberidgetalk.wordpress.com/

      2. I don’t only praise God because He was good to me-I praise Him because through the tragedies in my life and the abuse and things I endured and many as a result of my own doing and my own sin, I praise Him out of such love and adoration that out of nothing I did on my own He still chose to die so I could live. That even when I don’t have all the answers I trust that He knows why something happens, tragic or not. That He doesn’t choose to leave me in my broken state. Children starving has little to do with God and more with the selfishness and greed of others. If everyone chose to live by a biblical worldview, what God outlines in the Bible- His love letter to us, – the world would be a much different place. Sin entered the world and the enemy satan is still very much alive roaming around looking for people to devour. We praise God in the storms of life as well. That is what I do now, but when my brother died – I was angry and blamed God. I questioned everything. The book- The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren helped me. Sorry I don’t have all the answers – seek God and His Holy Spirit will help to guide and lead you. I will check out your blog. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

