Gifts

  

 

Define: 

A gift can be defined as something bestowed or acquired without any particular effort by the recipient.

 

Affirm:  

1 Peter 4:10 As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace.”

 

Recall:  

I love gifts.  I love gift giving.   I love shopping for gifts.  I love sharing gifts.  Most importantly, I LOVE to receive gifts.  I love receiving gifts that are wrapped nicely in a box—like the little blue box with the white ribbon!  Gifts make me so happy!  I love the art of seeing the box, anticipating the gift inside the box, opening the box, and making good use of the gift received.  

 

There have been occasions however, in which I didn’t like the gift, I felt like the gift was not a thoughtful gift or I have damaged the gift. So often, I have taken someone’s act of kindness for granted!   I need to improve in that area…

 

Earlier last week I was thinking about gifts and then GOD whispered in my spirit- I have given all of my children gifts and some of you (including you Lereca) are taking MY gifts for granted.  I pondered on the idea.  I don’t know about you; but the thought of taking GODs gift for granted makes me feel uneasy.  

 

I started thinking deeply about my gifts and the gifts of other people.  While being very excited because gifts build personal excitement, a feeling of despair entered my heart.  I discovered that we treat our gifts from GOD the same way we treat gifts we’ve received from others.  

 

This is what I learned about how we treat GOD’s gifts.

1. We appreciate them 
2. We give them away
3. We forget about them
4. We misuse them
5. We lose them
6. We put them in the trash
7. We never open them

 

How are you treating the gift(s) that GOD gave you?  Review the list above.  If you relate closely to numbers 2-7 with your gifts, it is time to have a conversation with GOD.  

 

I know what you are saying (I am guilty too)- I am not special, right now is not the right time, people will not understand, and/or there is someone else out there better than me.  Stop allowing the devil to cloud your thinking.   If you are not clear about your gifts- ask GOD to show you, he will.  Be prepared for what he shares.  

 

I have been writing since childhood; but I never considered myself a writer.  Secretly I’ve written short stories, poems, skeletons for booksworkbooks, programs, etc.  When I asked God for help, he placed the right people in my life to remind me of my gifts.  Repeatedly people would thank me for my words or my insight.  

 

Here I am today –writing.  I feel so blessed and thankful that I made one step towards being a good steward!  GOD will do thsame for you!

 

I encourage each of you to ask GOD to reveal your gift.  More than likely you are aware of your gift(s) from GOD.  When you are intentionally using your gifts to bless others you will feel good and you will attract more good into your life.  Trust me.  

 

I found a quick assessment that might help you learn more about your spiritual gifts– this is just a start.  After you take the assessment, I challenge you to begin using your gifts to build GOD’s people and GOD’s kingdom.   When you do- your life will never be the same!

 

 

Exercise:

Take the assessment below.  What are your top three?  How does this make you feel?  Do you feel better equipped?  (please respond through social media-we want to hear from you)

 

 Spiritual Gift Test

 

GO AND BUILD GOD’S KINGDOM.  He wants you to enrich somebody’s life today!

 

Commit to the challenge.  

I DARE you. ~Lereca Monik


#mydearestsister #Idareyou #restoredministries #itstimeforachange#anewyou #LiveRestored 

One thought on “Gifts

Leave a Reply

