Charity

  

 

Define: 

Charity can be defined as generosity and helpfulness especially toward the needy or suffering and/or aid given to those in need.  

 

Affirm:  

Matthew 25:40 Amen, I say to you, whatever you did for one of these least brothers of mine, you did for me.

 

Recall:  

As a fundraising professional, I have worked for many charity organizations in helping organizations offer relief to those in need. If you are like me, when you think of charity work- you will often think of the abused woman, the elderly that needs some form of assistance, the cancer patient needing financial support, the at risk student, the family that lost everything in a disaster, the individual suffering from mental illness, or even the homeless person in need of a meal.   The people I just described often appear as those they are in desperate need or help.  

 

What about those that do not look like they are in desperate need?

 

As I grow closer to GOD, I am learning that people in need of charity do not look a certain way.  To be honest with you, I too have experienced moments in which I needed food, financial support, a helping hand, and/or someone to talk to. Sadly most of the time when I have needed; because I don’t look a certain way- I have experienced very few people who have exercised charity to support my immediate needs.    

 

Honestly, I have heard many times, well sister I will pray for you.  I wonder to myself, if I am in need, why don’t you just help me.  Prayers are good; but sometimes people need more than a prayer.  They might need assistance with a light bill, a few groceries, or help with paying their rent. I am sure there are other people that look like they have it all together but don’t.  Many of which are going to sleep at night wishing that someone would be charitable to help meet their needs.  

 

I often fear that many times we are so wrapped up in gaining more for ourselves; that we truly become blinded to seeing the people close to us that are in desperate need.   When we do help, we often want a receipt in return.  

 

Have you ever given up your coat to comfort someone else? Take a moment to ponder on this:  “THE COAT- A Story of Charity.” 

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cp3IH8ZNviQ

 

After viewing this video, I hope you see that GOD allows us to experience opportunities on a daily basis to give up something so that others might have.   Trust me there is someone within reach that can use our warmth and comfort.   True charity is giving up your coat so that someone else will experience warmth.  

 

I challenge you to take the blinders off so that you can help someone today- there’s no need to go looking, the person is very near.  This person could be a friend, a family member, or a co-worker.   GOD shares with us that when we truly help others, we are also helping him!  Go be charitable today!

 

Exercise:

 

Dear GOD,

 

Please show me who I can help today.  GOD give me the insight to see when my brother or sister needs my comfort or help.  Give me the courage to be selfless and to act upon their needs.  GOD for I know when I am helping them, I am displaying your undying love.  GOD thank you for helping me exercise charity.  

 

Commit to the challenge.  I DARE you. 

~Lereca Monik 


Leave a Reply

