Crazy Stupid Thoughts

 

Lately, I don’t know exactly why but I find at times I have some fear and doubt creep up and try to grab a hold of me.  
Thoughts of worry about my kids. 
All of the “what if’s” start to swirl around in my head. 
Crazy thoughts that shoot out or at me from no where. 

I could be driving and get a flash of an accident or a thought of complete worry just when my kids walk across the street. 

Crazy Stupid Thoughts!!

I have to quickly decide what to do with these thoughts. 
Do I dwell on it and go into the full blown worry and fret mode?
Do I just blow it off and choose to not think on those things?
I have just a couple of seconds to decide what to do with these crazy stupid thoughts. 
Sometimes I turn it around and shoot up a prayer. 


Like this:
Thank you God that you have placed angels of protection around me and my family.  I trust that you are keeping us safe and I know that I can place all of my worries in Your Hands. 

If that doesn’t work then I speak a promise from God’s Word. 

Psalm 91:11-12
For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways; they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.

I sometimes chuckle at some of the weird thoughts that come across my mind at times. I know they are not my thoughts because they can be so bizarre.  I can pinpoint they are not my thinking because I have not been dwelling on those specific fears. 

I know to take responsibility if I have spent time mulling over and replaying thoughts that could cause me to have fearful or not so nice thoughts. 

And then there are times when we do have circumstances that would cause any normal person to be anxious and afraid. That’s when you have to be diligent the most with what you allow to come across your thinker. 

I  am reminded of the armor of a God. We are instructed to put it on. 
Last time I checked, we really need to dress daily not just once to stayed clean and clothed.  
Gross!! Imagine if we only got dressed once in our lifetime. 
We would outgrow, out smell and be cast out in the woods with our tattered too tight of an outfit. 

Since I don’t live in a nudist colony. 
Best choice for everyone involved. 
I need to daily get dressed physically and spiritually. 

I don’t want to be caught with my armor down!! ha!

Take a look at what Paul wrote to the Ephesians under house arrest in prison.  This applies to us. At least those of us who want to be victorious and not let things like fear, doubt or worry get the best of us. Your fiery dart might come packaged with a different name. 

Grief
Discouragement
Jealousy
Rage
Offense
Lust
Revenge
Self-pity

Remember the purpose of a fiery dart is to set you on fire. It only takes a spark to get a fire going. 
The mind is the biggest battlefield. 

Ephesians  6:10-17 
Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

Get up each morning and put on the armor of God. 
It doesn’t have to be a long and drawn out process. 

Just say something as quick and easy as, “I am wearing you Jesus every where I go. Let’s go out and do this day together.”  

I like to keep things simple. 
If a thought comes your way that is not going to take you to a place of love, joy, peace, self-control, kindness, forbearance or gentleness then extinguish it with your intentional thoughts of the Truth. 

Strategy:
Pull down or pluck off some fruits of the Spirit from your tree of life and toss out a fruit salad to chew on. 

Amazing how much better you will feel. The negative thoughts can’t hold on to something that doesn’t come into agreement with the fiery darts of destruction.  

Galatians 5:22-23  
But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

James 4:7-8
Submit therefore to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded.

Be fruity and don’t allow fear or any other tactic from the enemy to be worn on you today.  
It’s just not fashionable. You were not fashioned to wear such tattered too tight of clothing. 

Light On,
   Kelley Allison
    John1:4-5


Leave a Reply

