Does This Shoe Fit You? 

  


My takeaway notes from the movie: yes, I take notes at movies….don’t judge!!!

Have courage and be kind 

The greatest risk is 
to be seen as we truly are 

Take me as I am 

I forgive you 

See the world not as it is but as it could be 

If you only believe 

    I just went to see the movie Cinderella. My girls wouldn’t go with me. So my mom and I drug my seven year old niece to it yesterday. Now granted she had already seen it last week. She was doing me a favor by obliging to go with me. 
     Let me back up and say I am a huge Cinderella fan with quite the active imagination. I grew up in the 70’s watching the original Disney edition of Cinderella. We had the bulky VHS tapes back in the day of waiting to rewind and fast forward. 
I still remember that I too fell in love with the prince and cried when the clock struck midnight and Cinderella’s dream was snatched away as she raced away in her carriage through the forest. 
I have probably seen all the movies and Cinderella book editions that were ever created or published. I remember when I taught third grade language arts and we studied several different cultural adaptions of the story of Cinderella. It seems the story goes way back and continues to still resonate with a wide audience. 

I never really put much thought into the story comparing it to my relationship with Jesus until just recently I had a revelation. 

  Not too long ago I was nestled away in a cabin surrounded by a dark forest. Seven dwarfs or rather a couple of friends were spending the weekend with me. Any excuse to get away and have some fun with your friends. We had spent some time reading scripture and journaling. We purposely positioned ourselves to be alone and quiet as to hear the still voice inside of each of us. Sometimes we have to be intentional on being quiet and still to hear what the Holy Spirit is whispering to us
This day I got a whole earful on Cinderella and how Jesus wants to be my Prince Charming. 
I know your thinking, “That’s a weird thought.”.
Keep in mind God knows my inner thoughts and desires before I was even born.   
Remember He knows all my stuff all the way back to my desires and thoughts as a child. 

Jeremiah 1:5
“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

Psalm 139:2
“You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.”

Our Father knows how to individually speak to us like no one else could possibly imagine. 

I wish I could find my journal to share exactly what He revealed to me that day out in the woods.  The main point was that I got the revelation that He too was pursuing me like the prince was searching out for his lost princess. 

Does this shoe fit you?

Are you longing for someone to fill that void of discontentment ?

Are you wishing someone would come and rescue you out of your mundane life of cinders?

Maybe you never thought of Jesus being one who pursues you and desires to dance with you as you walk out the details of your everyday life. 

John 14:21 
“He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.”

Bippity boppity boo

You too can experience your Prince Charming without any midnight strikes turning you and your things back into old rags, cinders, pumpkins, lizards or rats. 

John 10:10 (The Message)
” A thief is only there to steal and kill and destroy. I came so they can have real and eternal life, more and better life than they ever dreamed of.”

“Why do some persons ‘find’ God in a way that others do not? Why does God manifest His Presence to some and let multitudes of others struggle along in the half-light of imperfect Christian experience? Of course the will of God is the same for all. He has no favorites within His household. All He has ever done for any of His children He will do for all of His children. The difference lies not with God but with us.”
A.W. Tozer, The Pursuit of God

Get out of the woods and ask Him for that first dance?

BTW, I give the Cinderella movie three thumbs up. Go see it!!

Glass Slipper On,
   Kelley Allison
    John1:4-5

  

Leave a Reply

