Forgiveness Part 2




Define:
Forgiveness is the intentional and voluntary process by which a victim undergoes a change in feelings and attitude regarding an offense, lets go of negative emotions such as vengefulness, with an increased ability to wish the offender well.

Affirm:
“But when you are praying, first forgive anyone you are holding a grudge against, so that your Father in heaven will forgive your sins, too.” Mark 11:25 

Recall:
After last week’s Meditation Monday Message on forgiveness I decided to search for a deeper understanding of forgiveness.  I knew there were areas of my life in which my blessings were being blocked because I chose not to forgive.  Through this process I felt compelled to seek GOD.  I asked him to help me forgive myself for hurting others and to develop the willingness to forgive those who have hurt me.   As I meditated more on the scripture, I learned that GOD instructs us to forgive.  His instructions are very clear.  I believe him and in him.  I know GOD wants me to exercise forgiveness in my life and he wants me to encourage others to do the same.  

Are you ready to forgive?  I challenge you to begin the process of forgiveness.  When you do, you will feel GOD’s presence. 

In pondering, I learned: 

Forgiveness is a choice.  It requires a change of attitude.  We can choose to let go of negative thoughts and emotions.

Forgiveness is not earned.  Many people choose not to forgive in fear of someone else’s thoughts and/or opinion.  Forgiveness is a personal decision and we do not need other people’s permission to forgive. 

Forgiveness is daily a process.  GOD’s example prayer includes a phrase of forgiveness.  Matthew 6:12
states “And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.”  I believe we should include forgiveness in our daily prayers; even if we are unaware of who or what needs to be forgiven.

Forgiveness leads to happiness.    When we forgive we are declaring that we want to leave beyond the past and be in the present.  As we are present “in the now” we will choose gratitude!  Expressing gratitude makes us feel better.

Forgiveness offers peace.  When we forgive we are making a decision to love ourselves more.  Love is God like and GOD signifies peace. 

Forgiveness is an experience.  If we view forgiveness as an experience, we can instead be thankful for all circumstances and enjoy the ride.  

Forgiveness is healing.   Just think when we don’t forgive, we hold on to stress as a result.  Stress causes many other health issues.   When we forgive we will heal ourselves physically and emotionally. 

Forgiveness is not condoning.  It’s does not mean that we accept wrong doing; but it does mean that we are willing to let go of all anger and resentment. 

Forgiveness requires a conscious effort and is a daily process.   We can either make the choice to be bitter people, live in misery, and block our blessings or we can choose to be better people, live life to the fullest and receive GOD’s full blessings.  Its your choice. 

I have accepted the forgiveness challenge.  Will you?   Together let’s get well and move on! 

Expression:  
I move beyond forgiveness to understanding, and I have compassion for all.  I know that old, negative patterns no longer limit me. I let them go with ease.  As I forgive myself, it becomes easier to forgive others.  I forgive everyone in my past for all perceived wrongs. I release them with love.  I am ready to be healed. I am willing to forgive. All is well.

Commit to the change! I Dare you! ~Lereca Monik 

2 thoughts on “Forgiveness Part 2

Leave a Reply

