Sitting This One Out 



 
You remember those old movies where the romantic rivals always end up on the dance floor with the same girl.  Each one is taking a turn twirling around the dance floor all smiles, and then the one not dancing is tapping on the other ones shoulder wanting to cut in.  The first dancer discouraged retreats and lets the new guy take the girl around a few times, and then it gets too much to watch so the guy goes back and starts tapping on that guys shoulder.  They repeat this maneuver over and over until the girl gets fed up, confused, her head is spinning, and her feet are busted.  The two guys never stop wanting to cut in, they both want her love and affection.  The poor girl is getting worn out.
I am that girl, worn out; feet are busted up, confused and fed up.  I have been dancing with two competing rivals and I am at the point where I just want to sit this one out.   Or, I like to daydream that as I am dancing and the tapping and switching that keeps going back and forth is wearing me out and then the really handsome gentleman with my best interest at heart would just punch the other one in the face and take him out of the equation.   I know, sort of drastic, but that is what I envision.  After all the other dude just does not have my best interest in mind.
The two rivals I am dealing with in this dance are my flesh and The Holy Spirit.  The Spirit is the really handsome guy with so much potential and a very bright future.  The Flesh is the mysterious intriguing guy that is a bad boy that really is not good for me; he really is just a bum in disguise.  
My daddy used to say I had a bum magnet attracting bums when I made poor dating choices as a young girl.  Thankfully I was done with that bum magnet when I happily hit the hubby jackpot almost 20 years ago. But in the two rivals situation, that describes exactly how it feels, like a magnetic pull towards this bum cutting in on the great potential and handsome guy.  
I get frustrated and I feel like I do not want my dance card punched anymore.   I feel like I wore the wrong shoes and my corns and bunions are screaming at me for taking too many twirls around the dance floor with this bum.  I want to run away, escape but that dang bum my flesh keeps running after me screaming SHOTGUN!  I want to speed away so fast and leave it behind!   I really want to be riding shotgun letting that handsome Spirit with my best interest with all the potential and bright future drive me around. 
This Lenten season has me pondering all this flesh vs Spirit stuff.  We all have found ourselves in this dance with these two rivals.   These two don’t play nice together, well, actually, they don’t play together at all.  The Spirit and flesh don’t like to share.   Our flesh and The Holy Spirit are never in agreement.  It is always one or the other. The presence of one always means the absence of the other.
When God tells us one thing and our internal compulsions tell us another, why do we often choose our compulsions, our flesh, over God?  That is what sin is still all about- choosing the flesh over the Spirit. Inconsistency is the work of the flesh. Our life will always be a struggle until we know deep down in our hearts that His commands – even the hard ones – are ultimately for our benefit.
 
I have been twirled and dipped too much.  I have been inconsistent!  I seem to flip flop from feeling like a Rock Star one day, and a begging street performer on a rainy day, the next.
I want God’s direction and guidance, but too often I am not willing to deny my self anything or even wait for it.  I keep letting the flesh cut in on the Spirit instead of telling the flesh, “No Such Luck Chuck- This is now a One Person dance.  I am not going to allow my own desires, impulses, or reasoning’s to direct and guide me so you sure can’t twirl me around this dance floor anymore- I will not settle for second best.  I am sitting this one out!”
 
So while I am sitting this one out- I will meditate on these Promises so I can dance more beautifully with the rhythm of the Holy Spirit. 
 
Whatever is born of the flesh is flesh, and whatever is born of the Spirit is Spirit. ~ John 3:6 CEB 
 
A person’s selfish desires are set against the Spirit, and the Spirit is set against one’s selfish desires. They are opposed to each other, so you shouldn’t do whatever you want to do. ~ Galatians 5:17 CEB 
 
If you live your life animated by the flesh—namely, your fallen, corrupt nature—then your mind is focused on the matters of the flesh. But if you live your life animated by the Spirit—namely, God’s indwelling presence—then your focus is on the work of the Spirit.~ Romans 8:5 The VOICE
 
The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Ghost, be with you all. Amen.
— 2 Corinthians 13:14 KJB 
 
For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God. ~ Romans 8:14 NIV 
 
May my obedience to your Word and Your Spirit be so complete that it shapes my every thought, word, and action Lord. May I give myself fully and wholly to Your Word and Holy Spirit so that You may wholly transform and restore me.   I thank You for Your patience with me.  Thank You for loving me so much that you want only the best for me.  Help me to choose the Spirit over my flesh.  Amen 
~XXOO Michelle Bollom 
 


Leave a Reply

