Bondage

IMG_1382

Define:
Bondage can be defined as slavery or involuntary servitude; the state of being bound by or subjected to some external power or control; the state or practice of being physically restrained, as by being tied up, chained, or put in handcuffs, for carnal gratification.

Affirm:
“For the creation was subjected to futility, not willingly, but because of him who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be set free from its bondage to corruption and obtain the freedom of the glory of the children of God.” Romans 8:20-21

Recall:
A few weeks ago, 50 Shades of Grey hit the theatres. As I conducted online research for topic of the week, I noticed that there are new conversations around bondage. It appears that the dialogue around the book series and the movie…has sparked a deepen interest in the topic of bondage. The story plot of the book/movie is interesting. It introduces us to the world of bondage… (I will let you conduct your own research) Typically, when we think of bondage or being tied up- it is not fun! In other words, it seems that slavery has somewhat resurfaced as something popular.

I am amazed by how we, as a society, as a culture are so attracted to drama, reality TV shows, hurting people, stories about crisis, death, illnesses…you get the point. Let me give you some insight, with our eyes wide open, this carnal attraction seeps into the crevices of our lives, and before long we are surrounded by the same thing we once saw on television or read in a book. Before long, we feel choked, tied up, slapped, beaten, burned, speechless, helpless, abducted and then we feel hopeless, empty, lonely, and meaningless. Because we’ve experienced shattered dreams, broken relationships, faulty friendships, deadly illnesses, and loss of finances also, we adopt the story plots from movies and books as “my” story instead of “his” story. We say to ourselves, “I can understand…”

Although on the surface, I did not see 50 shades of Grey as my story. As I continued my research, one critic intrigued me of his description of the movie’s main character, Christian Grey. Grey is a man tormented by his own demons and consumed by the need to control. I stopped there. That sentence slapped me in the face! I replaced Grey with Lereca. Lereca was a woman tormented by her own demons and consumed by the need to control.

God always has a way of getting my attention. Ha, his story quickly became my story. God quickly showed me not to pass judgment on others and that he is still also working on me. He then whispered “change the name to HE/SHE.” HE/SHE is a man/woman tormented by his/her own demons and consumed by the need to control.

So here’s the message…Does your life reflect a drama novel? Is the enemy tormenting you? Do you feel consumed by the need to control? Brothers and sisters there is hope.

You do not need to feel tormented anymore. There is power in the name of Jesus and we are freed through Christ. God wants you to dream again, mend your relationships, bring your friends back, heal your body, increase your finances…Let him bless you!

This week, I challenge you to put down the drama novel. I challenge you to turn off the reality show. I challenge you to call on the name of Jesus. I challenge you to plead the blood of Jesus over every aspect of your life. HE WILL BREAK EVERY CHAIN.

Instead consider meditating on this…

http://youtu.be/-pD2zIuiC2g

Expression:
Dear GOD,

There is power in the name of Jesus and I am ready to be healed. I give you every area of my life and I call on you to break every chain that is keeping me in bondage. I declare today that the enemy will no longer torment me and I declare your control over my life. Lord, thank you so much for giving me hope and setting me free.

Commit to the challenge. I DARE you.
#mydearestsister #Idareyou #restoredministries #itstimeforachange#anewyou #LiveRestored ~ Lereca Monik

One thought on “Bondage

Leave a Reply

