A Break In The Clouds

IMG_1166

I had a dream a few days ago where I was given a very important job. A job to create a brand-new word. A word that would describe the moments of clear weather between storms. Like when the clouds break for just a minute to let you get out and get to your car.
“They”….. (Though I’m not sure who “they” were) said that there should be a word to describe this.

So….I was asked.

“What shall this new word be?”

And then I woke up.

So for several days, all last week really, I thought about life and the rain storms we go through…..the bad weather, light showers or days when “it comes up a cloud” and just rains. That’s life. Days don’t always turn out like we plan. Just when you start taking the sunshine for granted, the rain comes.

I hadn’t thought about my dream in several days until yesterday at lunch as I ran to the eye doctor. Just as my appointment ended I looked out and it had started raining. It was really coming down hard. A flash flood. So I stood on the steps and waited. Waited for the break. As I dug thru my purse for my keys it hit me.
I was safe and dry ..
but I was waiting.

When we wait on the Lord . . . . He saves us from the worst of the storms. When we seek shelter and find rest in Him, He clears the way.
At that moment we know we are in His will.
Yes, we are gonna get wet at times and even soaked on occasion. But when the storm breaks and the sky clears, and it will…..
We will always thank Him for those moments. Moments when the rain holds off even for just a little while…..
He gives us that time to catch our breath. The key is to watch and wait for the break in the clouds. It will come. It always does.

I never did come up with the new word they asked for, but all this deep thought did bring to mind two words that already best describe this moment….”Unseen Glory”

~ Susan Q. Bailey

For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.-
2 Corinthians 4:17-18

“From where we stand the rain seems random. If we could stand somewhere else, we would see the order in it.”
Tony Hillerman

2 thoughts on “A Break In The Clouds

Leave a Reply

