Pasteurized Pastures

IMG_1153

Journey With The Shepherd Part 2

Baaa!! I can’t seem to escape the pasture. I have been trying to break loose and climb out and over to the other side of the green hillside.
Just to take a peek!!

Psalm 23:1-2

The Lord is my Shepherd I shall not want.
He MAKETH me to lie down in green pastures.

Last week I told you I was camping out there for a spell. I am setting up my tent and a folding chair. Well, here I sit!! Honestly, I kinda am ready to move on to other passages or pastures with some new adventures in the Bible.
But God is making me stay here for awhile.

The Lord is my Shepherd I shall not want.

It took me a couple days to get the first point in the first verse.

I shall not want!!

If I truly believe The Lord is my shepherd then I really don’t have need of anything.

What does that look like?

When I don’t know what to do next, I ask Him.

When I desire more, He is enough for me.

When I’m not feeling strong, He is my strength.

When I’m being tossed to and fro, He is my anchor.

No matter what kind of day I have in or out of the pasture I CHOOSE if He is all I really need.

That is a revelation all by itself.

Do I believe He is who He says He is to me?

He is my Shepherd.
He takes care of all my needs just as a shepherd would for his flock.

So onto the next verse.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures.

Now why would He have to make or force us to lay down in a comfy plush pasture with soft grass. I’m envisioning the sun is out and it’s perfect weather with a slight breeze.

Rest Rest Rest

How many of us don’t stop and sniff the flowers? Or at least look and see if they need watered.

God tells us to rest on the 7th day which is the Sabbath.

Exodus 34:21

Six days you shall labor, but on the seventh day you shall rest; even during the plowing season and harvest you must rest.”

He is our Creator so He knows that we need rest to be healthy, alert and productive.

You will see in the next passage He doesn’t keep us there forever.
Some of us could hang there indefinitely if we had our way.
Hang Ten ✊

So I asked Him the question. What am I doing in this green pasture and how long am I here?
If you ask a question, you should expect an answer.

So I got the answer today when I thought I better update you guys on

The Journey with the Shepherd.

Has anyone else out there been reading Psalm 23 and taking a journey with the Shepherd?

I thought to myself, “What should I title the blog that I’m going to write?”.
Pasteurized Pastures
came immediately to my head.

So I looked up the definition of pasteurize.

Pasteurize:
verb (used with object), pasteurized, pasteurizing.
1.
to expose (a food, as milk, cheese, yogurt, beer, or wine) to an elevated temperature for a period of time sufficient to destroy certain microorganisms, as those that can produce disease or cause spoilage or undesirable fermentation of food, without radically altering taste or quality.

Follow me closely here….

I feel like the Lord is whispering to me, “I want to turn the fire up and expose the things in your soul that are causing you to be spoiled and diseased. Allow me to turn on the heat to burn off the microorganisms that don’t belong in you. I don’t want you to be fermented but cemented in Me.”

Set a fire in me Lord to radically alter my tastes and desires.

Hebrews 12:29

For our God is a consuming fire.”

Fire me up!! I’m ready to get rid of any dross dragging me down.

Proverbs 25:4

Remove the dross from the silver, and a silversmith can produce a vessel;”

Baaa!! I’m Burning!!!!

Light On,
Kelley Allison
John1:4-5

Leave a Reply

