Secrets

IMG_1268

Define:
A secret can be defined as something that is kept or meant to be kept unknown or unseen by others.

Affirm:
“Nothing is covered up that will not be revealed, or hidden that will not be known. Therefore whatever you have said in the dark shall be heard in the light, and what you have whispered in private rooms shall be proclaimed on the housetops.” Luke 12:2-3.

Recall:
Shhhhh! Don’t say anything; please don’t tell them. If I tell you-you didn’t hear it from me. No one will find out, I guess I can do it this time, this will not hurt anyone.

Have you consciously or subconsciously said these words? I have. Have you ever told a secret? I have. Have you ever tried to hide something? I have. Have you ever felt burdened by your skeletons in the closet? I have. Have your skeletons ever left your closet and sat on your living room sofa with you? Mine has. Have you hurt someone by your secret? I have. Have you hurt yourself by keeping the “it” a secret? I have.

Here is the point, we have all told a secret and we have also all kept a secret. Let me example how secrets can destroy our lives.

While many of us were preparing for Valentine’s Day last week, I know someone; we will call him Sam who was dealing with his “secrets.”

Sam is a 38 year old married man. He’s been married for 15 years. He and his wife have 3 children. The family lives in a very nice community. Unfortunately, Sam has kept secrets from his wife for several years and the secrets have caught up with him this past month. See, Sam travels for work from city to city. He is rarely at home with his family and spends very little time with his wife when he is at home. Sam for years have been missing daily affection from his wife, so during business travels, he’s been in search for a concubine to replace his desires. Two weeks ago, during his lunch break, Sam’s goal was to hook up with another woman. Instead of hooking up, Sam was beaten up! He was robbed by three women. These ladies took his wallet, his electronics- including his mobile phone, and his wedding ring. (fast-forward) Later that same evening, Sam’s wife called his mobile phone as she would every night to say good night, only to learn about what occurred earlier that day. The conversation opened up a can of worms. Sam’s wife eventually wanted to know about all his encounters for the past 5 years. He was not ready to tell her the truth. Sam’s wife demanded a lie detector. Sam declined.

In a nutshell, Sam’s life spiraled down from there. Because of the stress he encountered after his secrets were revealed, his work performance was affected. His HR department encouraged him to take a leave of absence. Because his wife did not believe him, and she was fed-up with his actions, she moved out of their home. He returned home to an empty house. All areas of Sam’s life have been affected by his secrets.

In reflecting on Sam’s story, his story truly examples how secrets will be revealed in due time, how most of us are never proud of the secrets we’ve kept and how secrets affect everyone around you. Sam, thank you for your story. Your story gives me the fuel to claim the blood of Jesus over my life, my thoughts, my actions, my words, my secrets…I know that getting back on track will not be easy; but I know God has the answers. I encourage you to seek him.

To this week’s readers, there are three things you should know about secrets :
Whatever you do in the dark, will come to the light.
• It is impossible to keep a secret from God.
• God is ready and willing to forgive us.

Like Sam, I have told many secrets. I have kept many secrets. I have done many things that I would consider a secret. Unfortunately, many people have been hurt by my secrets. Some of my secrets have been revealed to others, and all of them have been revealed to God. If you think about it, secrets aren’t really secrets. God knows everything, which negates our actions as being secrets. I am so thankful to know that I/we can go to God and ask him for forgiveness. We no longer have to waddle in doubt, fear, shame, or burden because of our secrets. Let it Go and go to God.

Exercise:
Dear GOD,

You know about everything I do. I want to walk from a place of darkness to a place that is filled with light. Give me the courage to ask for forgiveness for all my secrets. Please reveal the secrets that I have allowed to weigh me down or burden me. I am ready to experience your blessings. Thank you for your readiness and willingness to forgive me. I am so grateful that you’ve been patiently waiting. Here I am God.

If you are holding onto secrets or burdens, please go to God. He is ready, willing, and waiting to forgive you. YOU ARE FORGIVEN.

Commit to the challenge. I DARE you. ~Lereca Monik
#mydearestsister #Idareyou #restoredministries #itstimeforachange#anewyou #LiveRestored

Leave a Reply

