Journey with the Shepherd Psalm 23

2015/01/img_0966.png

On one of my first trips to Italy years ago I discovered this man on one of my morning walks to see the summer countryside filled with blooming sunflowers.
He was a real shepherd walking his little herd of sheep down a winding road in the little Tuscan town of Farneta. Italy. I immediately thought of Psalm 23 and was excited to know that shepherds still exist and tend to their flocks faithfully.

I had never met a shepherd before!!!

Fast forward to now and explore with me the excitement of anticipation of Where is God taking me on this journey into the fields of Psalm 23 mediation?

Mediating has gotten a bad rap from some other sources. That’s a whole other discussion!!

The Bible says:

Joshua 1:8

This book of the law shall not depart out of thy mouth; but thou shalt meditate therein day and night, that thou mayest observe to do according to all that is written therein: for then thou shalt make thy way prosperous, and then thou shalt have good success.”

Psalm 1:2

But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.”

That’s just two verses, there are many more on the topic of meditating on the Word of God.

Definition Station:

med·i·tate
ˈmedəˌtāt/
verb

think deeply or focus one’s mind for a period of time, in silence or with the aid of chanting, for religious or spiritual purposes or as a method of relaxation.
think deeply or carefully about (something).
“he went off to meditate on the new idea”
synonyms: contemplate, think, consider, ponder, muse, reflect, deliberate, ruminate, chew the cud, brood, mull something over; More
plan mentally; consider.
“they had suffered severely, and they began to meditate retreat”

So basically I have been chewing my cud without smacking on Psalm 23.
No chanting, criss cross applesauce legs or incense

JUST

Reading over
and over
and over
again the 23rd Psalm of the Bible.

Writing notes
Looking up definitions,
Greek and Hebrew
Investigate sheep and shepherd stuff
Journaling thoughts
Listen, pause and ponder

I’m parked here until I am asked to move my rod or staff.

Most of us know about Psalm 23. Some of us may have even memorized it years ago in Sunday School.
We may have heard it recited at a funeral, read it on a plaque on a wall or recall quotes from this particular psalm.

Fun Facts:

(Who needs an encyclopedia when you have Wikipedia!)

-Orthodox Christians typically include this Psalm in the prayers of preparation for receiving the Eucharist.

-Psalm 23 is traditionally sung by Jews in Hebrew at the third Shabbat meal on Saturday afternoon. It is also sung during the Yizkor service. Sephardic and some Hassidic Jews also sing during Friday afternoon services and as part of the Sabbath night and day meals. It is read at a cemetery funeral service instead of the traditional prayer during Jewish holidays.

-The 23rd Psalm has been fully or partially quoted in the popular media 24 times starting in 1951 with the David and Bathseba film to now the year 2015.

-The most widely recognized version of the psalm in English today is the King James Bible (1611).

Refresher, for those who couldn’t recall the psalm.

Psalm 23

23 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

I’m not sure why I’m camping out here for an extended holiday.
I am anticipating that God will lead me into some deep personal revelations.
I believe He is “making me lie down in these green pastures” for a reason.

Anyone else want to travel with me to the pasture and hang with sheep?

I’m gong to read this Psalm every day for a week and listen for the Good Shepherd’s voice to reveal to the sheep (me) the hidden treasures waiting in the fields to be discovered.

I will get
Baaa Baaack
with you next week! 🐑

Light On,
Kelley Allison
John1:4-5

2 thoughts on “Journey with the Shepherd Psalm 23

  1. Awesome again Kelley! I am beginning to recognize (just a tad) when it is you writing. Love it. Thought you would like to know this psalm always stood on our grandmother Maes wall. I took it the day she died. This was also read at our cousins Judy funeral in Pa last year as her favorite. Love and admire you Kelley A.

  2. Grandma always talked about her mother Mae with such love adoration. She told me story after story of her and all that she endured. Thanks for sharing!! Do you still have the plaque of the Psalm? He’s leading you beside still waters with Him. So enjoy and rest in those green pastures. Notice He has to make us at times!!!!

Leave a Reply

