Happy Birthday Mom!

2015/01/img_0967.png

Today, I am going off script to personally thank my mother for her life and death. I lost my mother when I was 18 years old. I loved my mother— I truly believe her life was sacrificed so that I could be freed. Strangely, I don’t remember spending many days with her because she suffered from drug addictions and criminal behaviors.

My mother was a writer, like I am. I wish she was afforded the opportunity to share her work with thousands of people. She wrote about very real things. Although she was unable to, often the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree…. God gifted my mother, and because of her I am now able to freely share my stories, thoughts, and experiences. Her life blessed my life, and my loss inspired me to share this….

She died so I could be free.

Why God?
Why her?
Why my mom, my mother, my first home?
Why did she have to go, why did she have to leave?
Is it that she died so that I could be freed?

A woman of extreme intelligence, a woman of beauty.
A woman so mentally gifted, a woman that loved family.
Why did she have to go, why did she have to leave?
Is it that she died so that I could be freed?

A struggling single parent with two daughters
Psychotic-mental-anguish fighting life’s battles
Crack, heroin, alcohol addictions-lies and deceit
A jail bird, a thief -the street taught her these

In and out of prison why did she-
Have so many obstacles
Why did she have to go, why did she have to leave?
Is it that she died so that I could be freed?

Countless poems, words of encouragement, people remember her presence, her smiles, and her laughs.
Encountering so many roadblocks, she sacrificially displayed GOD’s gift, seasons have come, and seasons have gone and her walk on this earth has passed.

Her words were truth.
Here words were sweet.
Face to face people will never meet. Ms. Lady Lorraine of the euphoric olive tree.
She unknowingly left behind a legacy.
So when I ask why did she have to go, and why did she have to leave?

She died for others to believe, so that I could be freed.

Please appreciate every person that crosses your path. You never know how each experience will help you grow. My mother will never know how my life has been blessed because of her. Her life -the good- the bad- the ugly- and the great—planted the necessary seeds for me to share my truths. Low and behold she started a legacy. I am so grateful for her. My mom- Lorraine Marie of the Olive Tree.

~Lereca Monik

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Mom!

  1. All of you gifted people inspire me each day! I look forward to each new writing. Today’s Happy Birthday was so beautiful and great to know the love you harbor of Mother. Thank you all. Sue

Leave a Reply

